About Us

The Austin Area Rocketry Group is the local section of the National Association of Rocketry and one of the local prefectures of the Tripoli Rocketry Association. The National Association of Rocketry is the oldest and largest sport rocketry organization in the world. Since 1957, over 70,000 serious modelers have joined the NAR to take advantage of the fun and excitement of organized rocketry! Tripoli is a non-profit organization dedicated to the advancement and operation of non-professional high power rocketry. Tripoli has members in the United States and 22 countries around the world. 

Join us by filling out our handy online form or by coming out to one of our launches or meetings.


AARG was officially formed on August 15th, 1998 as section #585 of the National Association of Rocketry. AARG has operated regular launches since its inception - originally at Old Settlers' Park in Round Rock, later at the Pflugerville Pflying Pfield, and now at two fields in the Hutto / Granger area.

In late 2000, the merger of AARG and Hill Country Tripoli was proposed to more efficiently make use of available launching sites and equipment. This merger was approved in February 2001, resulting in a new club still known as AARG which is a joint NAR section and Tripoli prefecture. The club is a family oriented organization with a variety activities that can provide fun, educational opportunities, and a challenging sport for adults as well as kids. AARG supports all facets of rocketry from NAR contests, high power sport flights, and even experimental launches. 

ARRG competes with other NAR sections across the state in NAR sanctioned competitions, and works with other Tripoli sections to secure launch space and promote rocketry:

  • DARS the Dallas Area Rocketry Society
  • Challenger Houston
  • NHRC NASA Houston Rocketry Club


President - James Duffy
Vice President - Jim Jarvis
Prefect - David Ivey
Secretary - Stu Barrett
Treasurer - Mark Scheevel
Senior Advisor - David Belhorn

Positions & Committees

Contest Director - David Belhorn
Contest Committee Members
David Belhorn
Mark Scheevel
James Duffy
Outreach Committee Members
Jim Jarvis
Newsletter Committee
David Belhorn
IT Committee
Scott Petersen

Have a question? E-mail one of our officers.